Skip to content
January 26, 2011 / Andrea Capp

Moo.com Business Card Review | Not Thrilled.

I received my new business cards a few weeks ago from Moo.com and though the prints are lovely and the stock is what I would consider perfect for this project, I would NOT recommend them. The business cards they sent are glaringly off-center, and while I realize that putting a border on a printed piece can be risky business I also know it is possible for perfection (unless I’m losing my mind, but I’m pretty sure I’ve seen it). My second complaint regarding this matter was that there was no information concerning borders available on the website. At the very least I would have appreciated a call from the printer saying it would not be possible to cut the cards accurately.

The Moo.com staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and did offer a free reprint. After thinking long and hard I decided against it. If the cards are off-center with a border, they’ll be off-center without one, and though it may be less noticeable it’s just not acceptable. I have to represent my business and the design I’m selling in the best way possible; having horribly off-center business cards will not reflect well on the quality of my work. The staff at Moo also offered a refund, however that would require sending the cards back and I like them enough to just cut them myself (which is precisely what I was attempting to avoid in the first place – my home printer could have achieved this alignment…grrrrr).

Below are two examples of the detail-side of the cards and the back of the cards.

Right side is about a half pica smaller than the left.

It’s unfortunate that the company cannot resolve this. The packaging is great, marketing is great, website is great, the Buzzword Bingo and Buzzword Challenge cards are noteworthy additions, great stock, great print, an amazing option of up to 50 different images on one side of the cards, great customer service, reasonable prices…but all of these things do not help me achieve my initial goal of handing out business cards I am proud to share with a colleague or client.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Robert Wilson / Jun 7 2011 1:51 am

    Having received my moo cards this morning I’m facing exactly the same problem. It’s so disappointing that they get this most basic of things wrong when the rest of their service is seemingly flawless.

    • Andrea Arbuckle / Jun 7 2011 9:13 am

      I wonder if they’re taking any of their customer feedback into consideration. Alignment seems like an issue that could be resolved.

  2. Joe S / Nov 16 2011 9:22 pm

    I know this is a bit of an old topic, but I figured I’d chime in.

    MOO used digital presses. (That’s why you can have more than one photo/design in a job run. No plates, no real “ink” to speak of.) Which presses, I don’t know. What I DO know is that I’m in the print industry, so bear with me. Many digital presses have problems with perfect registration on a sheet. (Digital prints tend to “bounce” a lot more than prints on a traditional offset press.)

    It seems as if they’re trying to target the photographer segment of the market anyway. They really play the whole “different photo on every card” aspect, with some basic text on the other side. Most of their products don’t allow you to upload a PDF, just a .JPG, .PNG, or .GIF. (Which, by the way, AREN’T suitable for printing.)

    While moo offers a good service, it’s not useful for something that needs perfect registration or anything over a few hundred in quantity. Going above that, you’d be a lot better off (and so would your wallet) if you go to a REAL printer, no, not kinkos. Pay the small set up fee for making a plate and inking up a real printing press, and you’ll get a quality product. Real presswork might cost more upfront since you have to pay the set up fees, but the per-piece cost is FAR, FAR lower than moo’s ~35 cents a card.

    -Joe S

    • Andrea Arbuckle / Nov 25 2011 11:47 am

      I find it was more disappointing because I’ve had business cards printed digitally in the past and they turned out much better than what Moo had to offer. But it’s true, if one is looking for perfection, like many designers do, it’s better to go with a printer who can get it right on the printing and trim.

  3. http://red-robot.net / Nov 25 2011 5:36 am

    We had the same problem – twice. I actually just linked to your post when I blogged about it. It’s a shame, because their other products have been very good quality. Something is definitely lacking in the production process for the cards though.

  4. KJ / Jun 19 2012 4:09 pm

    I thought it was just me dealing with this!
    I bought 100 cards three weeks ago for this journalism conference I’m going to this week. When I got them, I noticed they were extremely off-center (almost running off the right side of the card). Customer service was really cool about it when I called. They offered to rush a new set, free of charge. When I opened them this past Saturday…they were the exact. same. card.
    Since there’s nothing I can do in just a few days, they gave me my money back. But I would have much rather had centered business cards. It sucks because otherwise, I absolutely LOVE them.
    I guess I’ll have to make the best of it when I pass them out… :/

  5. bigtoothmedia / Oct 12 2012 2:46 am

    For the record – they’re still churning out these poorly aligned cards 12 months on… I think they should make the effort to warn about this problem in BIG BOLD type on their site to better manage customer expectation…

Trackbacks

  1. Do you Moo.com? | Red Robot Media
  2. Do you Moo.com? - Red Robot Media - Red Robot Media

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

