Skip to content
October 22, 2009 / Andrea Capp

1938 Book of the Camp Fire Girls

I found this while packing up a large collection of books at my Aunt’s house. I was immediately drawn to its striking Art Deco design and textured fabric cover. Aunt Jean let me take it home and I’m so grateful! There are some funny little surprises inside. I plan to record the six Camp Fire Girl songs in the back of the book for your audio listening pleasure. I just need to make a trip to my parents house and plunk down at the piano. Keep an eye and an ear out for that!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Brenda / Nov 1 2009 1:29 pm

    This simple booklet is so beautiful. Thanks for sharing such a great find! I truly love fonts and books and letters, you get it. I treasure old books, and the beauty contained in vintage magazines. I found a gem online at the Prelinger Library called “St. Nicholas Magazine for Young People”. Amazing illustrations and unbelievable accomplishments by kids aged 10 and up. They had an article entitled, “100 Years Ago”, which described American life one hundred years prior….written in the 1880’s! Talk about your reality check. Anyway, since I am currently unemployed, or rather, self-employed, I have the luxury of time to ramble on about “ancient” American culture. But before I go off on another tangent, I want to thank you for your blog and encourage you to continue on your path. It helps to see how others are using their creative energy in positive, pro-active ways; and it inspires me to get off my ass and pursue the ideas I’ve had percolating for at least 5 years. Good luck and many blessings….

  2. Andrea Arbuckle / Nov 2 2009 12:10 pm

    Hi Brenda! I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. I’d love to see the magazine you’re talking about! Typography is so lovely, especially when it comes with an even better story. I also managed to grab a book from my Aunts house called Chatterbox. It has some great insight as to how people viewed animals in the 1880’s. It also has fantastic illustrations.

    It makes me so thrilled that I’ve put a little inspiration out there. My friend Ian is always a source of inspiration for me, so it feels like I’m sharing the luck of having found such an inspirational friend. It’s amazing how one little idea can put the spark back into your passions.

    Come back to the site and share your creations!

  3. Brenda / Nov 2 2009 2:45 pm

    Here are the two Prelinger Library sites to start with. I hope you enjoy.

    http://www.archive.org/details/prelinger_library
    http://www.archive.org/details/stnicholasv9part1dodgrich

    Now on with my search for “Chatterbox”! I just love the name.
    Continue inspiring, Andrea…

  4. Andrea Arbuckle / Nov 2 2009 4:40 pm

    I don’t look at internet archives enough! This is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

